Calendar: Art + Soul Celebration

Event Description

Don’t miss Pérez Art Museum Miami's seventh annual Art + Soul, celebrating the Fund for African American Art. The lively program includes open galleries, cocktails, canapés, and dancing under the stars. 

Benefactor Ticket Package
Purchase a Benefactor-level ticket package and receive two tickets to the cocktail reception and seated dinner, access to the Reveal and private lounge seating at the Celebration including champagne.

Cocktails + Dinner | 6:15pm SOLD OUT
Join us for a cocktail reception and seated dinner with a menu prepared by celebrity chef Amaris Jones. Includes access to Reveal and Celebration.

Reveal | 9pm
Enjoy a champagne toast and lively program as PAMM unveils the Ambassadors’ most recent art acquisition. Includes access to Celebration.

Celebration | 9:30pm
The party continues with a live performance by "Best New Artist" Grammy-nominee Tank and the Bangas, DJ sets by Pam Jones, open galleries, cocktails and canapés, and dancing under the stars.

Dinner Tickets Reveal Tickets Celebration Tickets


Collector and philanthropist Pamela Joyner, whose unparalleled collection of African American art will be highlighted in PAMM’s upcoming exhibition Solidary and Solitary: The Joyner/ Giuffrida Collection.


Christopher Carter
Doreen Chambers
Eric Johnson

Honorary Co-Chairs

Deryl McKissack
Curb Gardner

Benefactor Sponsor

Congress Wealth Management

Benefactor Committee

Michelle and Rodney Adkins
Sheldon and Florence Anderson
Suzanne and Chris Armstrong
Trixie and Lateef Belo-Osagie
Ann Blackwell and Cornelius Bond
Julia Brown
Madeleine and Thomas Burrell
Tracey and Christopher Carter
Doreen Chambers and Philippe Monrougié
Mireille Chancy Gonzalez
Ada and Jim Cole
Carol and George Crapple
Jaret Davis
Gail and Al Dotson
Curb Gardner
Alexandra and Kenneth Gardner-Smith
Carole and Ira Hall
Deborah and Larry Hoffman
Marilyn Holifield
Deborah and Duane Jackson
Donna and Eric Johnson
Lincoln Financial Group
Etienne and Hal Logan
Hassell McClellan
Deryl McKissack
Rose Ellen Meyerhoff Greene
Laura and Richard Parsons
Toni and Carl Randolph
Douglas Seaton
Dorothy A. Terrell
Teri and Lloyd Trotter

Dinner Committee

Alvin Adell
Douglas Baxter
Robbie Bell
Mark Borghi
Barbara Bowles
Joelle Cerge
Ramon Cernuda
Akilah Ensley
Nadia Fattah
Leslie and Greg Ferrero
Alysse Fisher
Jane Fox-Johnson
Brenda Freeman
Rosie Gordon-Wallace
Adler Guerrier
Carolyn Golden Hebsgaard
Maria Constanza Heinz
Sunny and Manny Hostin
Patricia and Lloyd Howell
Symeria Hudson
Patricia and William Kleh
Jeff Krinsky
Gerri Lazarre
Reginald Van Lee
Marcia Levine
Willie Logan
Holly Loiseau
Challis Lowe
Kimberly Marshall
Rosland McLeod
Eric and Cheryl McKissack
Gail Meyers
Monique Meloche and Evan Boris/Monique Meloche Gallery Chicago
Diane and Robert Moss
Joyce Mullins-Jackson
Nedra and Mark Oren
David Ross
Catherine Sarr
Lawrence Satterfield
Fredric Snitzer
Mindy Solomon
Patricia M. Papper
Dorothy and Aaron Podhurst
Soraya Rios
Lawrence Satterfield
Fredric Snitzer
Mindy Solomon
Carolyn Stennett
Suzanne Vielmetter
Joanne Walker and Rodney M. Miller
Marc Wehby
Joseph Wemple
Christopher Werley
Sensimone Britt Williams
Paula Wright
Phyllis Young

Celebration Committee Co-Chairs

Wendy François and Mikhaile Solomon

Celebration Committee

Orlando and Dr. Cassandra Arnold
Loreal A. Arscott
Matthew Beatty and Shevrin Jones
Heather and Basil A. Binns II
Nicole Bostick
Minca Brantley
Leigh-Ann Buchanan
Kadira Chauvin
Delman Coates
William Cordova
Matthew Dates
Sarah Desamours
Shirlee Fernandez
Jason Fitzroy Jeffers
Fabiola Fleuranvil
Lakeisha Frith
Rochelle Gapere
Jessica Garrett Modkins
Rodney W. Jacobs Jr.
Meena Jagannath
Yonnick Jones
Andrew Kemp-Gerstel
Monica Kirkland and Marcelo Sanchez
Erica Vernet Knowles
Charmel Maynard
Kevin Michael
Tiara Miles
Christoper Norwood
Rosie Nwakanma
Chevara Orrin
Peter Ortega and Hansel Tookes
Debra Duster Owens
Christopher Pastor
Toussaint Pierre
Valerie Riles
Zachary R. and Roshell R. Rinkins
Karen and Alex Rundlet
Linda T. Salavaria
Vanessa Sanchez
Stephanie Smith
Phillippa Weech
Nikisha Williams

*Committees in Formation

About Tank and the Bangas

Coming from New Orleans, Tank and the Bangas are surrounded by plenty of grand musical traditions. And the five-piece group has a rare knack for combining various musical styles—fiery soul, deft hip-hop, deep-groove R&B and subtle jazz—into one dazzling, cohesive whole that evokes the scope of New Orleans music while retaining a distinctive feel all its own.

“It’s music that can’t really be put in a box,” says singer and poet Tarriona “Tank” Ball. She fronts the band with vivid charisma that helped Tank and the Bangas win NPR’s 2017 Tiny Desk Concert Contest by unanimous acclaim, standing out among 6,000 entrants because of what Bob Boilen called “the depth of their lyricism and the versatility of their players.” Those same qualities also attracted the attention of Verve Records, which has signed the band.

Ball’s lyrical depth has been years in the making. She came up in the strong local slam poetry scene before meeting her bandmates: Merell Burkett on keyboards, Joshua Johnson on drums, Norman Spence on bass and synth keys and, eventually, Albert Allenback on alto sax and flute. “Growing up, I always could sing, but I wrote better than I sang, so I focused on writing,” she says. After her team won the National Poetry Slam Championship two years in a row, Ball turned her full attention to Tank and the Bangas.

What started as a loose collaboration at an open-mic night in 2011 has grown into a mesmerizing musical force that’s only picking up speed. After a featured set at the New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival early in the band’s career, the musicians built a reputation outside their hometown by grinding it out on the road, honing their live show and releasing the 2013 album Think Tank, all the while converting audiences into passionate fans and garnering critical acclaim, from the New Orleans Advocate to The New York Times. “It made us work hard,” Ball says of playing Jazz Fest. “It made us want to feel deserving of it.”